Drunk Driving Charges Are Similar In Kansas And Missouri
From my law offices in Overland Park, I can represent you, whether you are charged throughout the Kansas City area or elsewhere in Kansas or Missouri. There are many similarities between the laws in the two states, although there are a few differences. Both states have a separate process for criminal charges and administrative matters regarding your driver’s license. Here are a few basics regarding the laws in both states:
- Blood alcohol content (BAC): The law states anyone with a BAC higher than .08 percent violates the impaired driving laws. You can receive an enhanced penalty for anything over .15 percent. If you are under 21, you are not allowed to have a BAC higher than .02 percent.
- First-time offenders: If this is your first offense, you may face 48 hours to six months in jail, along with a fine, though in Kansas, you may only receive community service. Penalties increase with subsequent offenses. Penalties for repeat offenses are more severe.
- Implied consent: Both states are “implied consent” states, meaning if you refuse a breathalyzer test or other chemical testing, you will automatically lose your license for a period of time.
No matter your situation, you should always discuss your case with a knowledgeable DUI/DWI attorney. Know your rights and take action to protect them with the help of an experienced legal professional.
Ready To Defend Your Rights Today
With over 15 years of experience, I will work to protect your rights and your driver’s license as your dedicated DUI defense lawyer. Call me today, or submit an online form to tell me about your case. I offer free initial consultations.